RSS

The hygge of Oasis: why I find the band strangely comforting

11 Nov

It has been a difficult and stressful few weeks on the personal front. My 91-year-old dad has been in poor health, so I have spent many hours on the train, going to the hospital and back, or waiting for a phone call and hoping not to get one in the middle of the night.

I have needed some kind of solace, but clearly I’m not alone in this, as every time I pick up a paper I read about our current obsession with hygge, the Danish word that loosely translates as “comfort”, or things that are comforting. There’s much discussion as to what kind of things constitute hygge, but it seems mostly to revolve around log fires, candles and bed socks.

http://www.newstatesman.com/politics/uk/2016/11/hygge-oasis-why-i-find-band-strangely-comforting

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 11, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
