RSS

I Was Raped / I Was Battered

29 Nov

When he raped me, he beat my name from me. When he raped me, in a dorm room at the Institution Above The Trees, he promised he would kill me.“No,” I said, after he punched me, after he knocked me to the floor, dragged me to my bed by a fistful of my hair. “No,” and he hit me again. “No,” and he tightened his hands around my throat.Three noes. A knocking. An unanswered call.No, No, No rattled in my head as he tore into me and I spilled all over, and I cried, and I wanted my momma, and I hovered on the edge of unconsciousness, little bursts of light with each blow.His body, a cannon firing into me.Three noes, one for each of us: my rapist, the Institution, and me.

Source: I Was Raped / I Was Battered – Guernica / A Magazine of Art & Politics

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 29, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
